Print Thread
Rate Thread
#47255 01/25/09 05:18 PM
H
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
H
Ok, So my old 292 has a High-Volume oil pump in it for about a year now and no problems I run 20/50 weight oil. Iam now building a new 292. Question which oil pump should I install In new engine? And when would you use a High-Volume oil pump? Thanks for any input \:\)

HalfWacked Toyota Land Cruiser, Dual Fuel, Could have put a V/8 in it, But Stayed STRAIGHT
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
with a new engine with tight /normal clearances, i would not run the HV oil pump. i also would not run 20/50. i do run 15/40 and that gives plenty of oil flow and pressure, even with a turbo robbing some oil.

Inliner Member 1716
65 Chevelle Wagon and 41 Hudson Pickup
Information and parts www.12bolt.com

P
Contributor
Contributor
P
In different forums I have read that the HV oil pump is hard work on the cam because the springs are so strong. I have no real-world experiences with this... but that is what I have read more than once. Of course... if its on the internet, it has to be true. ha ha

250 Integrated Head / 1981 C-10 Pick up.
P
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
P
HV pumps simply have longer gears with the same tooth pattern and number of teeth as the stock pump. There are no springs except the pressure relief valve (which is present in the stock pump, and can be compressed between your fingers). The extra volume of oil moved is at the same pressure unless the spring is changed - you can have more volume with less maximum pressure and vice versa.
1. An HV pump provides more pressure than a stock pump at idle and low speed before maximum pressure is reached (regardless of the pressure spring).
2. An HV pump reaches maximum pressure at lower engine speed than a stock pump.
3. Once the bypass pressure has been reached both pumps deliver the same rate, and the extra from the HV goes straight back to the pan.