Inliners International
Posted By: moregrip1 TRW NOS forged pistons question - 02/01/23 07:52 PM
As many on here likely do, I have been collecting parts for a few years now and have some forged TRW 2289 .030 pistons I'd like to run in my engine when it comes rebuild time. Also just took delivery on some .030 Perfect Circle rings (circa 1978 according to the ink stamp).
Are the 2289's considered the LPG pistons?
Do they have any effect on compression ratio?
Lastly, being NOS they have their fair share of knicks and scratches but nothing I would consider critical; what should I look out for and is this common?
In other words, they don't look like a set of Tom's custom Ross pistons by a long shot!
Posted By: tlowe #1716 Re: TRW NOS forged pistons question - 02/02/23 02:07 PM
You will need to show a pic of the piston top. They have a 1.655 CH and if they are dished, then no they are not a LPG piston. Bet they are just a forged stock replacement piston. Do they have a chamfer on piston top near the ring?
Posted By: moregrip1 Re: TRW NOS forged pistons question - 02/02/23 03:41 PM
Thanks Tom, I'll try and get some pics up. They have a slight dish, no outer edge chamfer.
Posted By: moregrip1 Re: TRW NOS forged pistons question - 02/04/23 03:37 PM
Another question came to mind, been reading a lot of David Vizard books lately, are there any good sources for lightening pistons?
What are your thoughts on reducing the skirt length on a stock styled piston?
Posted By: moregrip1 Re: TRW NOS forged pistons question - 02/04/23 04:37 PM
Here's a pic of some .040 pistons. Both have about an .070 dish

[Linked Image from live.staticflickr.com]
Posted By: CNC-Dude #5585 Re: TRW NOS forged pistons question - 02/04/23 08:18 PM