Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#82857 11/02/14 03:39 PM
70Nova Offline OP
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
Finally a small step forward. Checked piston to valve clerance today with play-doh. I didn't bother measuring what seems to be about a 1/4". HUGE clearance.

I am happy about that, but I have to ask those with more experience, is this normal? This is the first Chevy inline I ever worked on so I'm still a newbie to these engines.

Zero deck, Comp Cams 268H grind with .499" lift. Timed straight up. Looks like there's plenty of room to experiment with cam timing if need be.

Last edited by 70Nova; 11/02/14 03:39 PM.
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
most want to see .100 piston to valve clearance. Some will run them tighter.

Larry/Twisted6
[oooooo] smile
Adding CFM adds boost smile
shocked God doesn't like ugly.
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
I don't see where your valves even made an impression in the play-doh. Did you use a solid checking lifter? Like Larry said, anything down to .100" is safe.

Class III CNC Machinist/Programmer
70Nova Offline OP
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
Valves never hit the dough. Used new lifters and did several rotations to get clearance to zero, adjusting more and more each time. Never came close. the dough is about 1/4 inch thick. You can see where the quench ledge squished part of it thin. The dough you see is how I patted it down before I bolted the head on. Wish I had a solid lifter to play with. I'd sleep better.
Just wondering if this much clearance is to be expected in this engine with this lift and zero deck. It would mean it should be easy to run much more lift than my .499" without clearance issues.

1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
Yeah, you can't accurately check P to V with a hydraulic lifter because it collapses in on itself. Find an old used one and weld it solid or take it apart and put shims in it until its solid.

70Nova Offline OP
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor