Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
1953 Chevrolet 3100

engine : 1957 235 block

So I got this truck to crank and run at idle... then ease the choke off. I ran it in reverse, which it was fine. Then when I tried to put it in fwd I kept stalling it out, which I am new to the three on the tree action, but it seemed no matter how much or how little throttle I gave it, when I let out the clutch, it just stalled.

Then it didn't seem to want to start back up...

I just do not know where to start, what to check or adjust really. I am new to the inline sixes.

Anyone have any ideas?

thanks.

-W

G
Major Contributor
Major Contributor
G
Could be a number of things.

I'd check the following:

1) Clean the carb. Might be flooding out. You can check this by popping off the air filter and simply smelling. If it reeks of gas then you might need a clean/rebuild.

2) Check for vacuum leaks. Start by pinching vacuum hoses. Then move on to spraying around the carb with carb cleaner. If it runs smoother during any of these you'll likely pinpoint your problem.

3) Check timing. 8-12 degrees advanced depending on the engine.

4) Might be a bad cam. Does it run rough at idle after all the above? Pop the valve cover off and look for broken valve springs. As a last ditch you can remove the plugs and hand crank the engine while measuring the lift with a fine ruler. When my cam went the car did the same as you're describing. As I said, though, last ditch effort here.

I suspect either a vacuum leak or timing. Could easily be a gummed up carb if you haven't run it in a long time.

C
Active BB Member
Active BB Member
C
Maybe something different. Is trans is stuck between gears, linkage jammed? Not unusual for worn-out three-on-the-tree.

T
Contributor
Contributor
T
Originally Posted By: chevy2inreno
Maybe something different. Is trans is stuck between gears, linkage jammed? Not unusual for worn-out three-on-the-tree.