Become a Member
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
Beemer makes great inlines. And old Jags too - love 'em.

FORD 300 inline six - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING!
E
efi-diy Offline OP
1000 Post Club
OP Offline
1000 Post Club
E
Quick update

I pulled the pan off of the 3700 (5 cylinder atlas) I got in Jan. Its spotless inside. Pulled rod cap the rod bearing looks like it was just installed.

51 GMC 4.2 turbo
Can't solved today's problems using the same technology/thinking that created them
V
Contributor
Contributor
V
efi-diy, I'm with you on most points, and if you were a little closer I'd have a beer with you in person, being in Edmonton. As an auto tech I'm a fan of the 4.2 Atlas but that intake is plain ugly. I understand both sides here and I'm always tempted to look at a FI motor, it's the piecing together a PCM that catches me. I would love to do that swap in my 55 Pontiac as a possibility though, even as I make a post elsewhere about Webber sidedrafts.. I waxed poetic about a 4.2 FI for my 79 1/2 ton and did nothing but now I've got a long term vision type of car that has a future as a long distance cruiser. I am a big fan of modern tech in old cars. I'd love to see your GMC in person some time.

V
Contributor
Contributor
V
I am with you on the longevity of these engines when taken care of. New stuff in general has a nearly infinite lifespan, if people would just change their oil. Good for me, bad for them.

V
Contributor
Contributor
V
Also I'd love an obd2 port on my old car. It makes life so much simpler.

E
efi-diy Offline OP
1000 Post Club
OP Offline
1000 Post Club
E
Originally Posted By: vanherk1