Print Thread
Rate Thread
J
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
J
Greetings to all:
I have a 1973 C10 with a 250. The motor has an Offenhauser 5416 intake with a Holley 8007 (390cfm). The 250 currently has the stock exhaust manifold.

I have seen where many people have removed the stock exhaust manifold and put headers on. My mechanic told me that with the headers every six months or so you need to replace the gasket. As I am not a mechanic I can't afford that.

I just saw a post where a Camaro owner had the same set up and opted to use the 292 exhaust manifold as the exit diameter is 2.5" vs 2.0" of the 250 exhaust manifold.

Should I go for the 292 exhaust manifold or just stick with what I currently have?

P
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
P
Definitely better, 56% more area, will last 20 years if well coated. Run the larger pipe as far back as you can.

Also possible: a fabricated header made from sections of Schedule 40 weld ells, not as efficient as an actual tube header but extremely durable. Downside: $$$, difficult to make.

M
Contributor
Contributor
M
As for the gasket remark, use a rimflex gasket.

The big issue for some of the headers is warping of the flange. I have run the same set of Clifford headers since 83 or so. They warped within the first two years. Built up the sealing surface on the face of the header flange with weld, and ground it flat and parallel. Rimflex gasket, no leaks, if you decide to bite the bullet and get a set of tube headers.

Last edited by mdonohue05; 01/08/18 01:29 PM.
J
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
J
Thanks for the sound advice.

J
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
J
That is some encouraging info to go the header route. I have a lot to think about.

Thanks mdonohue05!

G
Major Contributor
Major Contributor
G
Look for a Langdon split header. It's cast iron and very durable. I also used high temp (exhaust) RTV to get a good seal. No problems.