C
ChrisD Offline OP
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
C
Hi,

this is my first posting here, so first some infos about me:
I’m 45 years old and life in Germany near Frankfurt.
In my normal life, i work as a IT process manager and developer.
I have a 1978 Chevy C10 with a 250 LD4 engine, this is my first US-car. Before that i drove old BMW, and repaired them. But i‘ve never tuned them (only a bigger engine 3 times, or another intake).
Now i‘m interested in getting more torque from my engine.
I‘m not a RPM- friend, the more torque at low rpm the more i like it.
I didn‘t found much info about this engine, only the HP and Torque at https://www.cjponyparts.com/resources/1978-chevy-truck-specs

Now my question is, how to get more torque.
The 1970 250 has more hp and torque and as i understand, the 250 mercruiser engine also, but didn‘t found too much info what they did when they circumcised the engine for emission control. Only that the old engines has a better compression ratio.

I‘ve found these pistons: https://uempistons.com/i-17060-4-1l-gm-mercruiser-l6-uses-2m667-040-piston-set.html
Looking at the specs, I see a better compression ratio - 8.4:1

So is is as simple, only put these pistons in and the engine is more like a 1970 250 with more HP and torque??

What i also want to change is the exhaust, 12bolt has a nice split one, and with it, i change into 2 pipe til the end.
Then i‘ve bought a lump kit (it was cheap because of changing to a newer version)
My thought is, that it can‘t be false if the engine can breath a bit better.

Okay, have a nice day and stay healthy!

Regards
Chris

Edit:
The engine has a non integrated head, is that usual or allready changed by a previous owner?

Last edited by ChrisD; 11/28/20 04:07 PM.
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club