Rate Thread
#5985 01/03/05 09:38 PM
T
Tony P Offline OP
Major Contributor
OP Offline
Major Contributor
T
I'm building up a 302 GMC,everyone ,including cam grinders told me the rocker ratio is 1.5.You can carefully measure the rocker pivot points, seems like 1.5
So here I am checking cam timing,and I notice the valve is missing .040 lift when fully open.I set up the indicator on the tappet,.285 just like it's supposed to be.But up at the valve retainer,it's .395. Should be .435 ish.Now nothing is flexing and these measurements are at zero lash. .285 x 1.4 is .399. I compared the sheetmetal GMC rockers to 235/261 Chevy rockers,the same thing.
We are all getting cheated on lift, must be a plot by V-8 guys

70 Triumph 650 cc ECTA current record holder
#5986 01/04/05 01:46 AM
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
Tony, You are not necessarily being cheated. I don't know how GM measures rocker ratio. But I worked as an engine development engineer at Ford and the way it was measured there was to publish the INSTANTANEOUS rocker arm ratio at the midpoint of the production cam's lift. That is also usually where the rocker arm contacts the valve tip at a right angle, giving the greatest mechanical advantage. So it is very likely that the lobe lift multiplied by the rocker ratio does not give the true lift at the valve. That's why light checking springs are handy for installing the valve train and measuring the true events of the cam, both duration AND lift. Good luck with your project.

By the way, aftermarket rocker arms I have tested usually will give greater lift than the production ones they replace, closer to the published ratio. Clever people, those cam grinders.

FORD 300 inline six - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING!
#5987 01/04/05 01:12 PM
T
Tony P Offline OP
Major Contributor
OP Offline
Major Contributor
T