Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#99346 02/06/22 02:05 AM
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
Hello all!

I’m starting a build thread for the engine I want to use in my 1953 GMC 2-Ton truck project. This truck will be updated with a more modern suspension, brakes, and tires from a compatible (in GVW) medium duty truck. It needs to be safe at modern highway speeds. My goal for this truck is to be able to drive across the country and safely transport back heavy stuff. One of the first things I want to use this truck for is to bring home a crankshaft grinder.

I looked long and hard at the idea of building a 302 GMC inline-6 engine for this truck. But the cost and difficulty of finding parts made it impractical for this project. After a lot of careful research, I feel the 292 is a good choice. Parts are still somewhat available, and there are quite a few people out there who know a lot about and love these engines.

A little about me:

I’ve been a precision machinist and tool maker now for over 45 years. This will be my first experience being an engine machinist. Does this make me an engine builder? Not even close. But I’m hoping with luck, my existing skill set will transfer to what I’m going to try here. I also hope that some of you on this forum that do have engine building experience will help guide me when I get stuck.

Please know, I am always impressed and interested in the clever work people do to extract as much power as possible from the internal combustion engine. This build will NOT be that. I’m only interested in improvements in torque and power in the lower RPMs. This engine will have a 4,200 RPM red-line, and spend most of it’s “useful” life between 1,600 and 2,400 RPM.