Print Thread
Rate Thread
D
Newcomer
OP Offline
Newcomer
D
Good Evening All,
So I'm planning out my next build and venturing into new territory (I've been a very stock builder in the past). I have a '54 civilian 302 block and head (flat pistons) and I'm looking to use a McGurk intake with either 2 or 3 single barrel, zeniths. I have 2 rebuilt BV10s (originally off of 228 GMCs) ready to go and possibly looking for another. Obviously, a single BV10 wouldn't be nearly enough carb for a 302, but would 2 work? Would 3 be better? Or should I start looking for larger zeniths like BV11s for 12s? I hope I've included enough info in this post, but if not, I will gladly elaborate.
Thank You All,
Deltamac

Last edited by Deltamac; 01/15/24 02:33 AM.
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
A lot still depends on how radical the engine will be. How big of a cam...? How high of an RPM will it operate in...etc? There are numerous carb CFM calculators based on some of these parameters. Most multi carb setups were purely for looks and less for functionality, so only select what the engine truly needs....

Class III CNC Machinist/Programmer
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
There is a performance gain with a proper multiple carb set up. It won't compare with port injection but that doesn't matter to most of us. The most carbs I ever ran was a 3 side draft setup from a '54 Vette on a 261 in a '40 Chevy pickup. The engine was not a race build but pretty strong. If there had been 1/8 mile drags back then I would have been famous. I've run several 2x1 setups and one 2x2. They all ran better than a single 1 bbl carb. I had a 2-jet on a 270 that ran very well. The coolest looking is a 3X2 Harper, and probably the most complicated.