Rate Thread
B
Boucher Offline OP
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
B
Fellow inliners,

Good morn! JED and turbo'd inliner are doing great for the most part. I have been cruising and dealing with a heat issue.

When it just gets warmed up, it runs great. AFR's are right on, great power surge in transitions, idle to boost. The issue is when I am running it for awhile and it is at full temp (hot) The AFR's are always rich (10) and runs like a dog. Once you get the boost up and near WOT it clears out, but the transitions are lazy. I am thinking its a heat soak or fuel issue. Any thoughts?

I was looking at it this morning trying to wrap my head around an intercooler setup. I am thinking, clock the turbo 180 deg and put the intercooler between the grill and radaitor support and come out the other side.

Since I am new to intercooling, would this one work?:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CXRacing-Univers...=item4cfcc5147c

The big question is, Is it worth the trouble of doing this????

Thanks,

Boucher'

Contributor
Contributor
Boucher,

How is the carb setup, power valves, jets etc. amount of boost, is it a holley carb? sounds like a power valve issue. How is the power valve referenced. I don't think you need an intercooler unless over 15 psi.

Harry

Turbo-6
B
Boucher Offline OP
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
B
Current setup:

- HEI, lightest springs, initial 10 deg
- Holley 2300- 2bbl- 350cfm- 61 jets, 8.5 PV (non-referenced), white Accel pump cam
- wastegate set at 8psi
- mechanical fuel pump- boost referenced

Contributor
Contributor
So I assume I'ts a blow through, therefore you need a 2.5 power valve to hold the fuel back until the very last moment. Also you need to enlarge the power valve fuel channels and lean down the jets, but keep the total area the same since it runs good under boost.

Harry

Turbo-6
M
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
M
This intercooler would be a better choice.