Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
P
Newcomer
OP Offline
Newcomer
P
Hi! I'm new around here. One of the reasons I jumped in was to learn. I've worked on my own cars since before I had one (worked on cars with my Dad beginning at age 10... I'm 60 now), and I'm a licensed mechanic, but this is a new one: I have a Chevy "250", unassembled, on the engine stand, waiting to be put together. All nicely balanced and blueprinted, line-honed, decked, bored .030 over, big valves, double springs, (lots of fun things), but recently, I decided to build it to run on propane. I'm still learning about this and have learned that you benefit more if you raise the compression ratio, and now is the perfect time to do it since the engine has not been put together yet. However, the head IS together. I'd like to mill the head and get the compression up to 10:1 or 10.5:1. Anybody have any suggestions as to how to calculate just how much to have milled off the nice new "ready to go" head?? I'm thinking that I'll have to put a sparkplug in and turn the thing upside-down (level it) and fill the combustion chamber with oil, carefully measuring how much it takes to fill it, using some kind of a syringe to do the measuring, and calculate the displacement of the stroke of the piston and add the two and the figure the ratio of the two added together, and the combustion chamber itself. (How'm I doing so far?) It should be pretty easy to figure the displacement of the cyl using simple geometry and taking into account the .030 oversize bore, (and a table to convert inches to CCs) and also, by figuring how many CCs the combustion chamber SHOULD HAVE, to give me the right ratio, and by filling the upside-down combustion chamber with so many CCs of oil and measuring the depth from the head surface to the oil level and taking that as the amount I need to have milled off the head. But what about the head gasket, and the amount of effective combustion chamber it adds? Will the "non-flat" piston top affect