Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
P
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
P
Hey Folks, this is my first time posting a question and I really hope you can help. I recently finished building up a beautiful 292 that I put into my '58 GMC pickup. I'm using an Offy 3 Carb setup with three Rochester Model B carbs (the center one has a cable choke), Langdon Headers, Mallory dual point dist, Clifford performance Street/Strip cam, Stock Valves with Z28 springs. I recently had the deck resurfaced and the head rebuilt. The engine is from a '66 Chev pickup and only had 43k miles on it was a very sound engine when it was pulled. The problem that I'm having is this: When I first start it up it runs pretty well but after it warms up it seems as though the fuel mix gets richer and when I adjust the idle screws it seems to have no effect on the idle speed. I pulled the first carb off yesterday and there was a pool of fuel on the manifold floor. I'm pretty certain that I'm not getting a good seal at the intake manifold because there's about a 1/16" difference in the thickness of the flanges on the Langdon headers and the Offy intake. I've installed studs and fine thread nuts w/lock washers in place of the manifold bolts and I had it running GREAT before I did this recent rebuild so I know that everything works well. Also, I should say that this time I completely rebuilt all three carbs. Is it OK to use the red hi-temp RTV sealant on the Manifold gasket to insure a good seal or is there some other way to achieve this. I have the stock type FelPro metal gasket on it right now (with no sealant) but I'm not opposed to trying another type of gasket and sealant. If anyone has some advice I would greatly appreciate it. Here's a couple of photos of the engine if anyone's interested:
http://pedaldoctor.com/images/Finished_292_Engine.JPG
http://pedaldoctor.com/images/Finished_292_Engine2.JPG