Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hoyt Offline OP
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
I have an early M20 (casting no. 3831704) that I think that I want to put behind my 1954 chevy 261 six. However, the diameter of the bearing retainer is about 4.182 inches and the bore in each of the three bellhousings that I have is about 4.680 inches. Is another bearing retainer available or is an adapter ring available, or could one be turned by a normal machine shop?

I also have an early Corvette V-8 3-speed that I could use. Are rebuild or shifter kits available for this transmission?

I nkow that I should probably use a more modern transmission, but I have been dragging these around for over forty years, and I want to stay in the early sixties or earlier, except for real safety items.

Hoyt, II# 922

Hoyt, Inliner #922
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
If there is enough area out side the bolt pattern Im sure a machine shop should be able to turn them for you.

Larry/Twisted6
[oooooo] smile
Adding CFM adds boost smile
shocked God doesn't like ugly.
E
Contributor
Contributor
E
While you could have one made, I'm sure it wouldn't be cheap. There is a factory one available, just search for it.

J
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
J
Dear Mr. Hoyt;

Buffalo Ent. can help you. There # is: (360) 652-7684.

I use a 55-62 bell housing for mine, but that has It's limitations etc.

Good luck. \:\)

John M., I.I. #3370

"There are no shortcuts to any place worth going". -Anon
G
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
G
Hoyt,
Are you sure about those numbers?
Seems like there backwards. The later trannies and bellhousings should be the 4.68, the '54 and earlier car bellhousings have the 4.18 hole in them.??

What vehicle are you trying to do this in?

I.I. #3174
J
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
J
Dear Mr. Hoyt;

The newer transmissions have the larger retainer as Brian says.