Rate Thread
J
John C Offline OP
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
J
Ok All,
I am not a race engineer but I have been facinated with the lump port design.

What I am thinking of is if it is possible to machine a bolt in spacer between the intake and head that acts like a lump port. Thus giving an end user a direct bolt in with none or minimal machining of the head for the L6. Forgive the drawing but I am not a CAD guy.
Thoughts?

John C.
Pensacola FL
65 two door wagon project

John C.
Oklahoma!
1965 two door wagon project
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
John
One of the older tricks was to add a lump or plate just to the intake Just before the head and they have said that did work But Closer to the Valves Showed much more improvement in Flow. Something else that was tried was a Port divider But still that to needed to remove the stock head bolt boss. hope this helps }[oooooo]

Larry/Twisted6
[oooooo] smile
Adding CFM adds boost smile
shocked God doesn't like ugly.
Contributor
Contributor
I just can't get in my head how this helps !! Wish I could see one in real life so maybe I could understand how it works. All my head work in the past was centered arouund the valve area and matching ports.I guess this flow bench stuff has realy found ways we never thought of..SCRAP

Jerry Davis II#4711

ol Smokey said "one test is worth a thousand expert opinions."
L
Major Contributor
Major Contributor
L
hello....ok here is a VERY BASIC concept on what the lump port does and how it works(interesting enough, not only does it help the Chevy Inline 6 head but there are V-8 heads out there that have learned this concept too....it just keeps coming....)....