Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
1000 Post Club
OP Offline
1000 Post Club
I do.

I took my altered roadster to the strip today with the new crossflow cylinder head setup on it. I have been collecting parts to do it for the last 15 years and working on this new program for three months. After an easy pass of 9.653 seconds @ 139.79 MPH I put down a 9.329 @ 141.48 at only 6600 RPM through the lights. Since it had a conservative tune up on it and old tires, the wrong carbs, the wrong headers and short shifted I thought that was not too bad but then I had to make the decision of whether to start optimizing the combination by making changes or leave it alone and bracket race it . I decided to race it and not touch the engine. Well I went through six rounds of competition before a blown head gasket ended my day. Now head gasket failures have plagued me in the past but this new engine has even higher compression and I want a long term solution to this nagging problem.

Therefore, I am contacting some aftermarket gasket suppliers to design and build me some steel laminated, coated head gaskets for the 300 / 240 Ford inline six engines. If you are looking for an extreme duty head gasket similar in construction to the ones used in the Ford Modular V8/V10 Engine Family and in other high tech engines that see high cylinder pressures then reply to this post please. Be aware that these gaskets will probably cost $150 - $175 each due to the low volumes, but a regular FelPro #1024 gasket is about $50. Actual price is still TBD and may depend on the volume ordered. It is worth the additional cost to me if the gasket life is substantially increased. I will only build what I have commitments for so decide how many you will want and reply here or on the www.fordsix.com website BB. Don't send any money to me yet. Thanks.

FORD 300 inline six - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING!
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club