Print Thread
Rate Thread
#27330 11/13/06 03:45 PM
O
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
O
Hi all! I'm new to this particular forum and am searching for info and results for possibly adding fuel injection to the 261 stroker I'm building.
First of all, I'm not an auto mechanic by trade. For me, it's not what I know, but who I know. I have moderate skills, but I rely on help and info from those who really know. My neighbor is a master mechanic and highly skilled motor builder. He is helping me build my motor. I also have a cousin who lives nearby that can fabricate or build ANYTHING. He is the one who just got me going on this as he just converted one of his old MG's to F.I. using salvaged parts and the Megasquirt system. He thinks I can do the same (cheaply) by using equipment from a 4.3 V-6. I was planning on using an Edelbrock 2X1 on 2 NOS Rochesters I've been saving.
So...has anyone done this? I've done a search on this topic but couldn't find anything definative or anything I could really understand. Any info in simple terms will be greatly appreciated.

62 Chevy C-10 Fleetside LB 235 4spd w/O.D.
J
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
J
Dear Bert;

The 'Cadillac' 261 is a high torque low RPM engine (5000 or less) which it gets from It's longer stroke etc.

Not being a mechanic, you should stick with your plan for the 2 Rochesters etc.

When this guy in Canada gets his EFI system going; then things could change.

Good luck. \:\)

John M., I.I. #3370

"There are no shortcuts to any place worth going". -Anon
O
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
O