Rate Thread
#29603 01/01/08 08:48 PM
K
kyull67 Offline OP
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
K
Hi, this is my first post here. I'm new to inlines and I've got a '67 C10 with a 250. I'm going to rebuild the motor and I've bought the Offenhauser Intake with a Holley 390cfm Carb and Clifford headers. Do I need to heat the intake, and if so how whats the best way to do it?
Thanks.

#29604 01/01/08 10:28 PM
Contributor
Contributor
Welcome to the Inliner's BB!

Under the "Tech Tips" link in the menu to the left is an article by Tom Langdon about manifold heat. Exhaust heat is best, but hot coolant is better than nothing. Most automotive engineering books (e.g., Smith and Morrison's Scientific Design of Exhaust and Intake Systems) also recommend the use of heat. The real purpose of the heat is to vaporize any liquid fuel droplets that get deposited on the floor of the intake manifold, not to heat the air, as many seem to believe. If hot coolant is used, one could install a heater shut-off valve in the supply hose to stop the heat addition if it is felt that heat is not needed. This would be an interesting experiment.

Hoyt, Inliner #922
#29605 01/02/08 07:38 PM
K
kyull67 Offline OP
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
K
Thanks for the reply!

#29606 01/02/08 10:05 PM
D
Major Contributor
Major Contributor
D
Kyull67,