Print Thread
Rate Thread
#33722 10/07/06 04:21 AM
D
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
D
I have heard that the Dyno's the smog stations use can simulate unrealistic road conditions, and they often cause auto transmissions to fail. Years ago I lost a TH350 in a Nova the day after a smog test, and I also know a guy who lost the trans in a Aerostar(don't laugh!) during the test. Anyone else hear of this happening ?

#33723 10/07/06 07:36 AM
J
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
J
Dear Dan;

I would think it would be in the "hands of the operator". I have no 'real world' experience with dynos.

I know in the early 80s I took several vehicles we had passed at our shop to a State contracted SMOG testing Corp. and they all were failed on the Dyno.

When I returned they still met/passed the required specs./limits (non Dyno.).

This forced us to re-test them at further expence in time to us and money to the customer. In fact; we had to lie on the paperwork to pass when the cars were "clean" under the existing laws.

I filled several complaints with the BAR that year on the testing station, with zero results because the shops owner wouldn't go to the court hearings etc.

I doubt a dyno test could damage a transmission but someone else might know better on that.

John M., I.I. #3370

"There are no shortcuts to any place worth going". -Anon
#33724 10/07/06 11:09 AM
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
About the only way that i know of that, THAT could happen is if they Had to much load set on the rollers. Which would be like trying to do a power brake on Black top which in turn would over load/heat a AT tranny. Also the tranny could have already Been Weak and ready to go at anytime??

Larry/Twisted6
[oooooo] smile
Adding CFM adds boost smile
shocked God doesn't like ugly.
#33725 10/07/06 11:37 AM
J
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
J
That makes perfect sense.