Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#43280 08/31/08 11:34 PM
X
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
X
This past weekend I purchased a 1958 Plymouth Suburban 4 door wagon. This unit is powered by a 230 mopar flathead 6. When I bought it in Omaha, car ran very well. 30 miles down the road, radiator spewing smoke I end up in a gas station with water in the oil. I'm not sniveling, cause the car is extremly cool, but I'd like to know what kind of issues I can expect to see when the engine is out and on the bench.

My second question is about the drive:
The car is equiped wih a 3-speed w/overdrive. I'm thinking about a change to a Chev L6 with a 700R4 behind it. I've been told the 3-speed is a stout unit but I'm a novice when it comes to this ovedrive. Looks like it has got a cable to activate it but I'm clueless as to how to activate it.

The frame is a big heavy completely boxed perimiter frame. Due to the goofy torsion bar/drag link (this forces a center sump oil pan) I don't see anyone that has a stub or any Mustang II type suspention. Any suggestions fella's?

Faster, faster, faster, till the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death........
Xea I.I. #5390 #43281 09/01/08 01:52 AM
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
It may be a head gasket, cracked head, or block. Those are good engines but that is a big car. If I was going to use a newer engine I'd use a Dodge slant 6. Keep it Mopar.

Usually the OD cable is pushed in to be in OD and pulled out to keep it out of OD. If all is working well it should shift into OD when ever you let off of the gas above about 24 mph is 2nd and high. If it doesn't there could be a blown fuse, loose wire, bad solenoid, relay, governor, or a real problem with the OD unit it's self. When these work right they are really fun to drive. There are manuals and web sites that can tell you all you need to know to make them work. They are really pretty simple.

"I wonder if God created man because he was disappointed in the monkey?" Mark Twain
X