Print Thread
Rate Thread
#55878 02/28/10 08:16 PM
J
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
J
O.K. Here is my question. On a vehicle with an alternator light (GM),power from the accesory side of the ignition switch goes through the alternator light bulb to the field terminal of the alternator. On my 1936 Pontiac with OHC6 and a standard internal regulator Delco alternator, I have to rev the engine past 2000 RPM to get the light to go off. Why? This is not the first time I have run into this. My 54 GMC is the same way. I have been a mechanic for a lot of years and I have seen this several times and I don't know the answer. Also, changing the regulator dosen't help. I hope there is someone out there smarter than me. Thanks, Joe

N
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
N
Sounds like you have a pulley ratio that turns the alternator slow.

The "coming on speed" of the alternator is a relatively fixed speed at the alternator. If you have the pulleys to where the alternator is turning slower (relative to the crank) than oe setups it will take more engine (crank) RPM to bring the alternator on line and extinguish that light.

If it's causing a problem you can use a smaller diameter alternator pulley, or a larger diameter crank pulley.

From the sound of it, you don't need one that's much different than you currently have.

My, what a steep learning curve. Erik II#5155
B
Major Contributor
Major Contributor
B
Do you have a diode in the wire to the alternator it needs to have 12 volts to start charging at idle, if not it will not start to charge until the RPMs reach a higher speed usually between 1200 and 2500 depending on pulley size. Also without proper voltage they will stop charging if the RPMs drop below a certain point usually lower than the start RPMs.

Been there, Done that, Hope to live long enough to do it again.
Big Bill
I.I.# 4698
J
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
J