Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
U
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
U
i just picked up a 1957 chevy pickup. it has the 235 straight six. i was able to turn the crank by hand. after talking to some guys from other forums they suggested to only bore the cylinders .010. just to clean them up and replace the pistons and rings. they said it didnt matter in performance if i went bigger on the bore. also they told me it wouldnt be worth getting a bigger crank too. but they did mention i could change out the cam rods and lifters. i am new to the straight sixes but i know i can have this motor beefed up and running like a 265. any suggestions about how to go about this? thank you.

D
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
D
There are upgrades you can do.Just don't expect big jumps in performance. Firstly,make sure you have the block checked for cracks.After all these years it is not uncommon. The attached sight has some info on parts that are available.

http://www.patricksantiquecars.com/

Drew
Mid-Atlantic Chapter
U
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
U
thanks drew for pointing out the possibility of having a cracked block.

W
Contributor
Contributor
W
I wouldn't be too concerned with a cracked block. Heads on the other hand is a different story. Get them checked. If you are going to bore an engine, I say go big or go home. A well worn engine could already be at .010 over. Go with at least a .030 over. Back in the day it wasn't uncommon for hot rodders to go .100 on overbore on the stovebolts. Keith Black still offers .080 pistons. Patricks, Egge, Langdons, Clifford, and Larrowe's are all good places to start looking for performance parts. Most Trucks will have a solid lifter cam, being yours is a 57 it may have been drilled for hydraulics too. Check your casting numbers on the block and head to see what they are. Patrick's also has a good csting number guide. Anyhow, good luck.

P
Contributor
Contributor
P