Print Thread
Rate Thread
#6854 03/02/05 09:16 AM
S
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
S
Hi all, Ive been running a new Edelbrock 500 for a couple of months now. From day one fuel has been collecting in bowls where the air valve weights are. The carb otherwise runs beautifully, I havent had flooding problems nor does fuel drip from the throttle shaft. My mechanical fuel pump delivers between 5.5-3.5psi.Float level and drop are set to factory specs. Could this be a percolation problem?
Any ideas?

#6855 03/02/05 05:34 PM
M
Major Contributor
Major Contributor
M
A rare but consistent problem I found in 2 600 cfm Edelbrocks was the secondary booster nozzles were not sealiing tight to the carb body. Take the top off the carb and check the 2 screws that hold each of the secondary boosters in place. It seems one or more of the carb body holes aren't drilled and tapped deep enough so one or more of the screws bottoms out before making the booster tight against the gasket and carb body. The screws feel tight but no seal is made. Loosen one screw at a time and try wiggling the booster gently. If it moves, the screw remaining in place is bottomed. If it doesn't move replace the screw and remove the other one and try again.
The fix is very simple. Just put a small flat washer or two under the head of the screw. No need to drill and retap the hole deeper. As further evidence the booster isn't tight you can remove it and study the gasket carefully. A properly seated booster will leave an impression evenly across the gasket. You can reuse both the booster gaskets and the main body to air horn gasket if they didn't tear. I always put a tiny dab of anti seize on all the screws of these carbs.