Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
J
Newcomer
OP Offline
Newcomer
J

The details on me and the truck are below... I want to swap a 6 cylinder (not original) with either a small block V8 or better yet a larger V6 like a Vortec 4200

There are a lot of thoughts on this thus far.. please see details below.

Here's the deal :

I'm just getting started on my research for getting a half ton '42 chevy panel truck back on the road for use as a daily driver.
I also need it to occasonally haul my travel trailer a 22 foot vintage Curtis wright (about 3,000 lbs so fairly light)
So it needs some power, though only necessary for driving and towing, I'm NOT looking for crazy awesome power.
Also I need it asap as I have no wheels right now, luckily I live in San fran so I can often do without.That's the basics

The truck as it stands:
Seats replaced with bucket seat from 70's or 80's sports car
It has a running 1970's Mustang engine in it- master cylinder is bad. Presumalby the rear from the Mustang. This will be remeoved and sold for cash to put back in.
It has original leaf springs on the rear but not the accompanying original suspension. No shocks were ever added and the leaf springs have started to shift sideways slightly. We plan to fabricate some brackets or mounts to add in shocks and perhaps a package to stiffen/distribute the rear as it will be used as a tow vehicle. Obviously we'll be straightening the springs and getting them properly bolted in.
We also plan to replace or stiffen up the front end for better handling.

The Plan:
To outwardly keep the truck as original looking as possible, while giving me the power and handling for a daily driver:
Stiffen up the front end for better handling.
Replace engine ???
Replace auto transmission and rear end
Add shocks to rear
fabricate a mounting to the frame for a tow hitch to pull trailer
install disk brakes all around
power steering
tilt steering (for long drives this will be needed especially)
install a heat/AC/Defrost unit