Become a Member
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
i'm planning my next foolish car project, and i've got to decide if i'm going to use this engine i have. it's a Navarro-built Rambler six that i bought as a load of parts 7 years ago.

the issue is that block and head are both cut for o-rings. see pics. my question is, is this suitable for durable, long term reliability in a street engine? i have plenty of o-rings for it. i have zero experience with o-ringed engines.

i plan on a mild build, carbureted, normally aspirated, cam undecided (streetable), relatively high revs (this engine was run up to 6200 i believe). turbo would be something for later.

the head is unique, a factory "R & D" casting (R&D part number cast in, not a production item) that has has substantial porting. the block was bored and sleeved, to reduce the 199" displacement to 182" for the car class (67-69 Indy).

Contributor
Contributor
Tom,

If that's the engine from his INDY car he told us he used gas filled "O" rings, the ring looks large for an standard copper or stainless steel .040 ring. Does the head have a reciver grove? hard to tell from the pictures? Or is the head for a double ring? If they are gas filled they may be rare, don't lose them.

Anyway seal water and oil with silicone and you should have no problems.

Harry

Turbo-6
B
Contributor
Contributor
B
THATS A PURDY HEAD AND WORTH A BUNCH..... IT WILL NEED HARDENED EXH VALVE SEATS FOR TODAYS GAS THOUGH.

Last edited by bcowanwheels; 02/17/13 11:04 PM.

I BELIEVE IN " JOHN 3:16 "
Contributor
OP Offline
Contributor
 Originally Posted By: Turbo-6
If that's the engine from his INDY car he told us he used gas filled "O" rings,

thanks harry. the two o-rings per cylinder are concentric; the diameter of the o-ring circle is 4.1" on the block, and 4.2" on the head. double ringed.

So with Right Stuff etc to seal coolant and oil, o-rings should be good for the long haul?