Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
C
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
C
Hi all, this is my first post. I have been reading a bunch and have learned a lot of new things. I am new to the inline world, with my '64 Chevy II wagon having a 250 six in it. It has a Clifford intake and header, Holley 390cfm carb but otherwise a fairly stock rebuild.

Recently I ran into a problem where is overheated enough to cause the #6 wrist pin to get tight (not seized) and cause the piston skirt to be gouged and slight in the bottom of the bore.

Since I have things apart, I am checking everything. One thing I noticed is how far down the pistons are in the bore when at TDC. I measured this at almost a 1/4" (.24x). I have been reading and really haven't found the answer.

On a 250, how far in the hole should the pistons be at TDC?

Thanks!!!!

1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
There really isn't an established set deck height on any of these engines, but typically on the 250's it has been found to be as much as .050"-.060" below the deck to as little as .020" below the deck. Depending on how many times the engine has been rebuilt in the past and if the block has been resurfaced a few times before you ended up with it. Your measurement of almost a 1/4" of an inch makes me suspect you have a 230 and some one installed 250 pistons into it. That would explain the excessive deck height you have. See if you can find a part # somewhere on the piston somewhere to verify someone didn't make this mistake.

Class III CNC Machinist/Programmer
C
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
C
Thanks for the info. I am seriously suspecting something is wrong. I'll need to start checking numbers on thing. I wasn't able to find a part number on the piston, only 040 which I assume means .040 overbore. Number mic out that way.

This would definitely explain the detonation issue I have been trying to get rid of.