Rate Thread
#80148 04/25/14 05:40 AM
C
Crow Offline OP
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
C
So. Preparing to tear down a 250 to the bare block and then all the way back with some improvements on the way up.

First, a little about me. I'm a machinist with more than 10 years experience. Made everything from chicken house floor scrapers to space station parts. These days I do a lot of military and aerospace machining. I've never rebuilt an engine before. Never been deep into a head either. However, I figure with your, my grandfather's and father's help we can do this right.

When I was in highschool my father and I restored a '65 chevy fleetside. Everything was stock. We did nothing to the engine. I gave it back to him because it wasn't safe to drive in traffic in Huntsville and got a Ranger.

The '65 had a 230 with a 3 on the tree. Love that sound and action. (Want to get ahold of one of the 3 speeds with overdrive)

So far I've got and have read Santuccis' Power Manual (might need to just call it the bible), Engine Builder's Handbook by Tom Monroe, Engine Blueprinting by Rick Voegelin.

Recently got a 250 to start building. I chose the 250 as parts are easier than the 292 and it seems to be a more robust engine due to the shorter stroke length.

Don't have a car yet, but am leaning towards a 4 door Chevelle. I've never driven a car much, other than my ex-wife's. It is time for a car.

I want a car that can handle stop-and-go jackrabbit in the city, and smooth highway cruising. And of course; that sweet, sweet, straight 6 feel. A daily driver with teeth.

So, I need an engine with some punch but not an all-out drag car. Really love the turbochargers that some of you guys have been doing. Also, EFI, EIC, wastegate control via a Megasquirt.

Going with a turbo at the level I want means I can probably stay with a stock cam grind and just really have to add forged pistons to the internals.