Rate Thread
#897 08/19/03 07:32 PM
T
tatao Offline OP
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
T
How are the vaccum lines connected in a rochester monojet with electric choke. There are 4 places where vaccum lines could go. One is on the base of the carb to the right of what i believe is the mixture adjustment screw. There's another one on the base of the carb but on the passenger's side. Then there are two close to the electric choke, one on top of the other. Right now the mechanic has left the vaccum line going to the distributor connected to the top one next to the electrick choke and the other three have a little cap. He said those were for a canister or something like that. Im new to all of this and i cant find any books here in el salvador. Is that how the lines should be coneected???

#898 08/19/03 10:15 PM
C
Active BB Member
Active BB Member
C
I can tell you how mine is set up on my '68 C10 with 292 and Powerglide tranny. It's got a manual choke though. My carb has 2 ports, 1 on passenger's side and 1 on front, driver's side corner. Front one is plugged, and the other goes to the vac advance on the distributor.

I can look in the Haynes book on Rochester carbs for more info after I get home.

1960 FJ25, 1993 FZJ80, 2000 Trooper
1968 C10, 1972 C2500
#899 08/20/03 05:10 PM
T
tatao Offline OP
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
T
I used to have it on the front one you mention, but the vaccum line was clogged so the mechanic plugged it on the top one next to where you regulate the idle. Is it the one on the side or the one in front? What difference would it make if it were plugged into a different port and what are the other ports for?

#900 08/20/03 05:58 PM
J
Contributor
Contributor
J
The Monojets came with lots of combinations of hose ports. I've got one that has 4 ports. 3 are small ones (about 4 mm across) and one is large (about 10 mm). If your carb has a different number, then the ones I can describe are going to have the same purpose.