#94356 07/16/18 07:47 AM
T
Active BB Member
OP Offline
Active BB Member
T
Stumbled across this on the hamb

https://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/thre...mc-302.1104041/

Would have thought it would be snapped up and put to use? I have a 302 and a single seater project this would be an amazing addition. Problem being I have no engine knowledge what so ever, let alone anything this in depth.

What’s holding people back buying such a piece? The funding it would need to build a good short block?

P
1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
P
As shown, it's a "plank" head, with no chamber. It has vertical valves like the original, but here the chamber must be created in the piston dome to have quench and turbulence - about $700-800, but you get a wide range of compression ratios.
Since the GMC and stovebolt have swapped intake rocker arms, and both valves are vertical, the stovebolt intake rocker may work for the GMC exhaust (the stovebolt exhaust rocker is definitely wrong, has a steep angle). Stovebolt and GMC rocker shafts same OD but GMC is longer. I don't like the single rocker stand holes, GMC has 2 bolts per stand? Stands may be special. Can't tell if the rockers are left and right offset.
The valve sequence looks stock: X I I X X I I X X I I X, so any GMC cam will work (some heads have different sequence and require custom cam).
Intake will be a problem could begin with some aftermarket manifold for a big 12 port L6 like AMC and slice it into sections.

1000 Post Club
1000 Post Club
I can think of several reasons it does not generate interest.

He is asking A LOT for it.
It is not the more desirable crossflow Wayne head.
It has had repairs done to it.
It is not a "bolt-on-and-go" proposition.
It requires additional fabricating, special parts, and knowledge to complete the set-up.

For a similar example go to the topic on the Spalding Bros replica build:

https://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/threads/spalding-bros-repro-for-too-tall-ganahl.983332/